01 Oct

Raids and eviction as a tool of political repression in Belarus

We were covering the situation in Belarus in March this year during the big protests that were happening here against the policy of the state that was forcing people to pay a fine for being unemployed for longer than six months in a year. For now the protests are over, however pressure from the government on those who were participating in the events of last spring didn’t stop.

Read More

03 Apr

Recent protests and repressions in Belarus

February and March have marked one of the most active protest period in the recent history of Belarus. Thousands of people were protesting not only against the infamous unemployment tax but against dictatorship of Lukashenko. People in the cities all around Belarus have organized their local gatherings and planning further steps in their struggle. Anarchists played an important role in those protests in several places. Reaction from the state followed – hundreds of people arrested and sentenced to short term arrests of 10-15 days, several are now prosecuted for planning riots.

During the evening we will have a presentation about the country, actual situation there and political struggle inside. After presentation there will be a chance to ask your own questions about the situation. We will be also gathering money for those affected by repressions – for fines, parcels and some money support in case people loose their jobs or don’t get paid. Presentation will be in english with german translation if required.

Saturday 08.04.2017 17:00 – 19:00 Malobeo, Kamenzer Straße 38

27 Mar

Repression in Belarus – rally in front of the embassy in Berlin

Tuesday, March 28, 10:30

Hundreds of protesters, journalists and passers-by were arrested on Saturday during the non-violent protests against the regime in Minsk. The arrests are accompanied by severe beatings, tortures, humiliations and house raids. Set up court trials end up in short-term prison sentences for almost everyone arrested. Riot police and military equipment were used to suppress the protests. Read More

27 Mar

Hundreds protesters detained after massive wave of repressions in Belarus

March 25 was planned by some liberal opposition leaders as the day of the biggest protest against Lukashenko’s policies this year. The biggest one on the wave of the recent anti-governmental demonstrations that started in February this year. It ended with the biggest police mobilization in years bringing thousands of riot cops to Minsk and detaining hundreds of people preventively and during the demonstration. This Saturday capital of Belarus looked like a war zone created by the police. Read More

17 Mar

Trial marathon in Belarus – 52 people jailed – Interview with activist

The 16 march was a marathon of trials in Belarus. Over 50 court hearings took place indifferent cities and 52 protesters are jailed. After the violent detention of the anarchist block, its supporters and bystanders after the demonstration on 15 march in Minsk and the detentions of people after demonstrations in other cities yesterday 52 people were sentenced from 12 to 15 days in prison, at least 25 anarchist among them. Read More

14 Mar

Biggest protests in Belarus in the last 10 year

In Belarus last weeks people took to the streets to fight the law against social parasitism – law that was signed by dictator Lukashenko in 2015, but started troubling population only at the beginning of the 2017. Thousands took to the streets in Minsk, Brest, Gomel and many other smaller cities all around the country, to show their discontent with the law and the current regime. The protests seems to have little influence from “official” opposition- instead of that people previously not involved in the politics are organizing together. In several places anarchist played quite a big role in the protests. Last week belarusian government started repressions against those on the streets – up until now over 48 people were detained and prosecuted for different violations. Read More

24 Jun

Ihar’s Alinevich “On the way to Magadan” is now published in German.

After more than 5 years of collaborative work on translation finally the book from Ihar Alinevich “On the way to Magadan” is now available in German! In the book former anarchist prisoner from Belarus Ihar Alinevich is describing his hardships during arrest in KGB prison in 2010-2011. Being kept in special prison for political targets of the state he was a subject to personal program of treatment with physical and psychological tortures.

During his stay in the prison he meets different people: starting from politicians from the opposition arrested after the presidential elections in Belarus in 2010, ending up with people from inside of the belarusian dictatorship, who were also repressed by Lukashenko’s regime.

The book describes the reality of political work and risks it applies for the activists in Belarus, and highlights the problems of the prison system and capitalism with describing some alternatives to it.

You can buy the book in Germany at black-mosquito or in Koenig-Kurt in Dresden

11 May

Call for solidarity with arrested activist of critical mass

Critical Mass on 29 April in Minsk ended up with 6 people detained and a criminal case against one of it’s participants. Dmitry Polienko is accused of violence against policeman and others charged with minor offences. The trials for minor offences are schedules for 12 and 16 may.

Dmitry is now in pre-trial prison and requires solidarity from comrades in form of solidarity actions and money for food parcels. The maximum penalty for the article he is accussed of is 6 year in prison.

In social networks a flash mob was started #iamcriticalmass/#ятожекритическаямасса to show solidarity with arrested. Apart from that you can send us your solidarity actions at belarus_abc@riseup.net.

You can also donate through paypal with the same address belarus_abc@riseup.net. Please specify the cause for transfer – “critical mass”

Till all are free! ABC-Belarus

30 Aug

[Belarus] Ihar Alinevich, Mikalai Dziadok, Artsiom Prakapenka and Jauhen Vas’kovich are released

belarus_prisoner

On 22nd August president Lukashenko has signed papers to release all the political prisoners, including our comrades Ihar, Mikalai and Artsiom as well as the nationalist Jauhen Vas’kovich(1).

This release comes after 5 years that they had to spend in prison. All the time prisoners were subject to psychological and physical torture. Numerous days were spent in solitary confinement as a punishment for struggle aginst the prison oppression.

We are glad to meet our comrades and see them in good spirits! They are now together with their families and friends. They will be under constant police control for next 5 years.

With this happening we would like to thank everyone who was helping ABC-Belarus all these years. We enjoyed incredible support of communities all around the world and through this we manage to create a really encouraging atmosphere of solidarity. Thank you very much!

Though these people are free, there are still several comrades who are in prisons in Belarus. They also need your support.

Till all are free. ABC-Belarus

(1) Vas´kovich is a belarussian patriot and was named by ABC Belarus, because he did a solidarity action for anarchists. He try to burn down the local KGD building in solidarity with the anarchist prisoners. He was never supported just named for this action.

02 Jul

Bewaffnete politische Polizei greift informelles anarchistisches Treffen in Belarus an

Mehrere Personen wurden wegen illegaler Nutzung von Waldressourcen und der Verteilung von extremistischem Material angezeigt, nachdem die politische Polizei mit Unterstützung einer Sondereinheit eine informelles anarchistisches Treffen angegriffen hatte. Etwa 20 Teilnehmer*innen waren zu diesem Zeitpunkt auf dem Campingplatz. Weiterlesen

01 Okt

Hausdurchsuchungen und Räumenungen als Werkzeuge politischer Repression in Belarus

Wir berichteten über die Situation im März diesen Jahres, während der Proteste gegen die staatliche Richtlinie welche Menschen, die mehr als sechs Monate im Jahr arbeitslos waren, mit einer Geldbuße belegte. Aktuell sind die Proteste vorbei, die Represionen gegen Menschen, die an den Protesten teilgenommen haben,  gehen jedoch weiter.
03 Apr

Aktuelle Proteste und Repression in Belarus

Februar und März diesen Jahres sind gekennzeichnet durch die größten Proteste in der jüngeren Geschichte Belarus. Tausende von Menschen protestierten nicht nur gegen das berüchtigte Arbeitslosen-Steuer-Gesetz sondern auch gegen die Diktatur unter Lukaschenko. In Städten überall in Belarus organisierten Menschen lokale Versammlungen und planen weitere Schritte. Anarchist*innen spielten eine wichtige Rolle in diesen Protesten in verschiedenen Orten. Der Staat reagierte darauf – hunderte von Menschen wurden festgenommen und zu kurzen Gefängnisstrafen von 10 bis 15 Tagen verurteilt, mehrere wurden angeklagt wegen der Planung von Riots.

An diesem Abend wird es einen Vortrag über Belarus geben, die aktuelle Situation und die politischen Kämpfe im Land. Nach dem Vortrag gibt es die Möglichkeit eigene Fragen zur Situation zu stellen. Wir möchten auch Geld sammeln für die Menschen betroffen von Repression – für Strafen, Pakete für die Inhaftierten und Unterstützung falls Menschen ihre Jobs verlieren oder kein Gehalt bekommen während der zeit im Knast. Der Vortrag wird in Englisch gehalten, wenn Bedarf besteht gibt es eine Übersetzung ins Deutsche.

Samstag 08.04.2017 17:00 – 19:00 Malobeo, Kamenzer Straße 38

27 Mrz

Repression in Belarus – Demonstration vor der Botschaft in Berlin

Dienstag, 28. März, 10:30 Uhr

Hunderte Demonstrant*innen, Journalist*innen und Schaulustige wurden am Samstag während eines friedlichen Protests gegen das Regime in Minsk verhaftet. Die Verhaftungen gingen einher mit Hausdurchsuchungen, gewalttätigen Übergriffen, Folter und Demütigungen. Schauprozesse führten zu kurzfristigen Gefängnisstrafen für fast alle, die in Gewahrsam genommen worden waren. Gegen die Protestierenden wurden militärische Ausrüstung und Aufstandsbekämpfungseinheiten eingesetzt. Weiterlesen

27 Mrz

Hunderte Protestierende verhaftet nach massiver Repressionswelle in Belarus

Der 25. März war als der Tag des größten Protests gegen Lukaschenkos Politik von einigen liberalen Oppositionspolitiker*innen geplant. Der größte Protest seit der Welle von Anti-Regierungsprotesten, die im Februar diesen Jahres begonnen hatten. Er endete mit der größten Mobilisierung von Polizisten seit Jahren. Tausende von Riotcops waren in Minsk, die hunderte von Menschen präventiv und während der Demonstration verhafteten. Diesen Samstag glich die Hauptstadt von Belarus einer Kriegszone, durch die Cops. Weiterlesen

17 Mrz

Anhörungsmarathon in Belarus – 52 Menschen inhanftiert – Interview mit Aktivisten

Der 16. März war ein Marathon von Gerichtsverfahren in Belarus. Über 50 Anhörungen fanden gestern in verschiedenen Städten statt und 52 Personen wurden inhaftiert. Nach der gewalttätigen Festnahme des anarchistischen Blocks, dessen Unterstützer*innen und Leuten die einfach daneben standen nach der Demonstration am 15. März in Minsk und den Festnahmen nach Demonstrationen in anderen Städten wurden 52 Menschen zu 12 bis 15 Tagen Gefängnis verurteilt, mindestens 25 davon Anarchist*innen. Weiterlesen

14 Mrz

Größte Proteste in Belarus in den letzten 10 Jahren

In den letzten Wochen sind Menschen in Belarus gegen das Gesetz Gesellschaftliches Parasitentum auf die Strasse gegangen. Das Gesetzt wurde von Lukaschenko bereits 2015 unterzeichnet, wurde aber erst Anfang 2017 unangenehm für die Bevölkerung. Tausende protestierten in den Strassen von Minsk, Brest, Gomel und vielen anderen kleineren Städten, überall in Belarus, um ihren Unmut über das Gesetz und das aktuelle Regim zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Die Proteste schienen weniger von der „offiziellen“ Opposition beeinflusst zu sein, vielmehr haben sich Menschen, die vorher nicht in die Politik involviert waren zusammen organisiert. An mehreren Orten spielten Anarchist*innen eine nicht unbedeutende Rolle bei den Protesten. Letzte Woche begann die belarussische Regierung mit Repression gegen die Protestierenden vorzugehen – bis jetzt sind über 48 Menschen für verschiedene Rechtsverletzungen festgenommen und verurteilt worden.

Weiterlesen

24 Jun

„Auf dem Weg nach Magadan“ von Ihar Alinevich jetzt auch auf Deutsch verfügbar

Nach mehr als 5 Jahren gemeinsamer Arbeit an der Übersetzung ist das Buch „Auf dem Weg nach Magadan“ von Ihar Alinevich jetzt auch auf Deutsch verfügbar! In diesem Buch beschreibt der ehemalige anarchistische Gefangene Ihar Alinevich die vom ihm erlittenen Torturen während seiner Gefangennahme im KGB-Gefängnis im Zeitraum von 2010 bis 2011. Als Inhaftierter in einem Spezialgefängnis für politische Gefangene des Staates wurde er einem ganz persönlichen Programm physischer und psychischer Folter unterworfen.

Während seines Gefängnisaufenthaltes trifft er verschiedene Personen: von Politikern, die nach den Präsidentschaftswahlen in Belarus 2010 verhaftet worden waren, bis hin zu Leuten aus dem inneren Kreis der belarussischen Diktatur, die in Ungnade fielen und vom Lukashenko-Regime ebenfalls verfolgt wurden.

Das Buch beschreibt die Realität politischer Arbeit und ihre Risiken im Fall von Aktivist*innen aus Belarus und es beleuchtet die Probleme von Knast und Kapitalismus sowie die möglichen Alternativen dazu.

Du kannst das Buch bei Black-Mosquito oder im Buchladen Koenig-Kurt in Dresden kaufen.
11 Mai

Anruf zur Solidarität mit den verhafteten Aktivist_innen vom Critical Mass in Belarus

Am 29. April wurden während der Critical Mass in Minsk 6 Leute verhaftet und Strafverfahren gegen einen Teilnehmer eröffnet. Dmitry Polienko wird Gewalt gegen Polizisten vorgeworfen und vier Teilnehmer_innen der Verstoß gegen die Straßenverkehrsordnung. Dmitry befindet sich jetz in U-Haft und wartet auf den Prozess – die maximal zu erwartende Strafe für diesen Paragraph sind 6 Jahre. Dmitry braucht die Solidaritäts-Aktionen aber auch Geld für Lebensmittelpakete ins Gefängnis.

In sozialen Netzwerken wurde bereits ein flash mob mit dem hashtag #iamcriticalmass #ятожекритическаямасса gestartet um Solidarität mit den Betroffenen der Repression zu zeigen. Du kannst ABC-Belarus an belarus_abc@riseup.net deine Berichte und Fotos von Soliaktionen schicken. Aussderm kannst du auch Geld über Paypal überweisen mit der selben Adresse belarus_abc@riseup.net und dem Verwendungszweck „critical mass“.

Bis Alle sind frei! ABC-Belarus