28 Nov

Perception and propaganda of abroad struggles by example of the Ukraine conflict

08 Dezember 2016 | 5 pm | malobeo, alternative cafe & anarchist library Kamenzer Straße 38

movie screening and discussion

People without personal connections to the area usually have to rely on the media and the perception of outside political groups when learning about struggles abroad. In our reception of the sources available to us, we often try to form an “objective” perspective and forget that we see things through a filter of our local political schema. We listen to established “experts” and don’t see our prejudice stemming from colonial/imperal perspectives.

Read More

20 Nov

Presentation about the political crisis in Ukraine and anarchists in it

Maydan_Artist3Sunday  30 November 17:00 pm Kosmotique Martin-Luther-Str. 13 01099 Dresden

 

This evening an anarchist from Ukraine will come to share with us his knowledge about the current political situation in the country. What happened in Winter of last year in Kiev? What is the Maidan and who were the people participating in it? What became the reason for the conflict in Eastern Ukraine? What is going on there right now and who is participating in the conflict? Who are the famous nazis from Ukraine and are they are so big as some media are reporting?

The presentation will be in English, translation into German will be provided for those who need it.

Background: A year ago social and political protests started in Ukraine. Hundreds of thousands of people went on the streets. As the result of the conflict that lasted for several months the president fled the country and the opposition took over the power. Around 100 demonstrators were killed only in Kiev. The Maidan Nezalezhnosti (Independence Square) became a symbol of the struggle against the government. Later on in the Eastern part of the country pro-Russian people started organizing protests against the Maidan movement. As a result of these protests the Donetsk People’s Republic (DNR) and Luhansk People’s Republic (LNR) were formed and they declared independence from the Kiev authorities. Separatists backed by the Russian government are now at war with the Ukrainian government.

28 Nov

Wahrnehmung von und Propaganda ferner Kämpfe am Beispiel des Ukraine-Konflikts

08. Dezember 2016 | 17 Uhr | malobeo, alternatives cafe & anarchistische bibliothek Kamenzer Straße 38

Filme und Diskussion

Wenn Menschen ohne persönliche Verbindungen in die Gegend von Kämpfen weiter weg erfahren, müssen sie sich normalerweise auf die Medien und die Wahrnungen politischer Gruppen von Außerhalb verlassen. In der Rezeption der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Quellen versuchen wir oft, uns eine „objektive“ Perspektive einzunehmen und vergessen, dass wir die Dinge durch den Filter unseres politischen Schemas sehen. Wir hören auf etablierte „Experten_innen“ und sehen die Vorurteile nicht, die aus unseren kolonialistischen/imperialistischen Blickwinkeln ergeben.

Weiterlesen

20 Nov

Vortrag zur politischen Krise in der Ukraine und die Situation von Anarchist*innen

Maydan_Artist3Sonntag 30. November 17 Uhr Kosmotique Martin-Luther-Str. 13 01099 Dresden

 

Ein Anarchist aus der Ukraine wird an diesem Abend da sein und über die aktuelle poitische Situation im Land reden. Was passierte letzten Winter in Kiev? Was ist der Maidan und wer waren die Menschen die daran beteiligt waren? Was war die Ursache für den Konflikt in der Ostukraine? Was passiert dort gerade und wer beteiligt sich in diesem Konflikt? Wer sind die berühmten Nazis der Ukraine und sind sie wirklich so viele wie einige Medien behaupten?

Der Vortrag wird in Englisch sein. Eine Übersetzung ins Deutsche wird wenn benötigt angeboten.

Hintergrund: Vor einem Jahr begannen soziale und politische Proteste  in der Ukraine. Hunderttausende gingen auf die Strassen. Nach mehreren Monaten anhaltenden Protests floh der Präsident aus dem Land und die Oppostition übernahm die Macht. Um die 100 Demonstramt_innen wurden in Kiev ermordet. Der Maidan Nesaleschnosti (Der Unabhängigkeitsplatz) wurde das Symbol im Kampf gegen die Regierung. Später begannen im Ostteil der Ukraine pro-russische Menschen sich gegen die Maidan Bewegung zu organisieren. Als Resultat daraus begründetetn sich die Volksrepublik Donez und die Volksrepublik Lugansk und erklärten ihre Unabhängigkeit von cdf Kiever Regierung. Separatisten unterstützt durch die russische Regierung sind jetzt im Krieg gegen die ukrainische Regierung.